Just on the off chance I get accused of being an evil leftie comment blocker I thought I’d share this curious comment that just came in. I’m not going to allow it forward but reproduce the content here and leave people to decide for themselves because it has perplexed me somewhat.
Author : Tory (IP: 147.32.114.186 , kelo.sh.cvut.cz)
E-mail : iuwqsmi@usa.net
Comment:
Best site!
Fabulous Website!
It’s vonderful.
On the outset it looks like an obvious bit of spam. All bloggers have had them, usually along the lines of ‘great site’ please allow my little link to a vlagra ad onto your site. This one however is strange.
I’ve checked the e-mail address, it’s got form for spamming, the URI which I’ve removed points to an advert for some drugs but interestingly embedded into a legit and respectable website. On that basis I’d discount it as spam but there are three things that don’t make sense.
Firstly, the name given, ‘Tory’ seems far too specific given the political context. Secondly, the origin of the comment is the Prague Technical University. Now before anyone jumps to conclusions or makes assumptions, the origin being in Prague is of complete coincidence and should not in any way whatsoever be interpreted as inferring anything at all in the slightest possible sense to do with Prattory OK?
It’s strange because most spam originates from hijacked machines, botnets and dodgy servers usually in the US, Russia or China (at least in my personal experience). I wouldn’t envisage a technical academic institution to be so lax about security that their system might get hijacked.
Thirdly, at least from my experience, most spam I’ve had has originated from unsecured dodgy old Window NT servers but this one checks out as having come from a Windows XP machine running Internet Explorer 6 (further note, do not draw conclusions just because Prattory uses a Windows XP machine with Internet Explorer 6).
Anyway, those are the details. If it is a genuine comment then it’s a bit weird but I genuinely apologise if the author is miffed about it not appearing. If it is spam, then it’s arguably the second most sophisticated I’ve ever seen.
Final note. NO NOT DOMINIC FISHER OK!?!(done in caps for the hard of reading).